DeKalb County Sheriff's Office DeKalb County Sheriff's Office DeKalb County Sheriff's Office
Home Press Releases Sex Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up for Alerts
Calendar of Events
Chaplain's Corner
Chief Deputy's Page
Frequently Asked Questions
History of the Sheriff's Office
Hot Cases
Inmate Roster
Kid's Corner
Mounted Unit
Pistol Permits
Project Life Saver
Road Conditions
Sex Offender Division
Special Response Team
Yellow Dot
Crime Tip HOTline 256-845-3801 - Submit via Email
(256) 845-3801
(24 hours)
Email Map
2801 Jordan Road SW
Fort Payne, Alabama 35968
Administrative Office Hours:
M-F 8:00am - 4:00pm
History of the Sheriff's Office - Click photo for more information

Sheriff Jimmy Harris
Term: 2007-Present

Sheriff Jimmy Harris took office on January 17, 2007. Before being elected, Sheriff Harris spent 16 years as a deputy sheriff, as lieutenant from 1995-2004, and Captain from 2004-2006. While serving as deputy, Sheriff Harris organized the DeKalb County Sheriff's Mounted Unit and served as its Commander. He also established the "Cowboy Up, Say 'Whoa' to Drugs" Program in conjuction with DARE. He is a graduate of the Northeast Alabama Police Academy, National Sheriff's Academy of Longmont Colorado, and Geraldine High School.

Sheriff Harris is a member of the Alabama and National Sheriff's Associations, and the Fort Payne F.O.P Lodge. He has been a member of the Geraldine Lodge since 1983. He is a member of the DeKalb County Shrine Club. He was a member of the State of Alabama Agriculture Advisory Commission in 1994.

Sheriff Harris was voted the Best Police Officer in DeKalb County in a Times-Journal poll in 2006 and 2007. He was awarded the Outstanding Commander Award in 2005, and Law Enforcement Officer of the Year by the Fort Payne Optimist Club in 2004.

Sheriff Harris is a member of Nazareth Baptist Church in Rainsville.


Sheriff Jimmy Harris
Term: 2007-Present

Sheriff Cecil R. Reed
Term: 1995-2007

Sheriff William C. (Bill) Ables
Term: 1974-1978

Sheriff Harold Richards
Term: 1963-1974, 1979-1994

Sheriff Walter Leo (Buck) Edwards
Term: 1958-1962

Sheriff George Hurshel Noles
Term: 1950-1954

Sheriff Wyatt Rufus (Samp) Evans
Term: 1946-1950, 1954-1958

Sheriff William Rufus Smith
Term: 1938-1942

Sheriff Edward Walter Stewart
Term: 1934-1938, 1942-1946

Sheriff Sidney Pope
Term: 1930-1934

Sheriff Luther J. Campell
Term: 1926-1930

Sheriff William Raymond Biddle
Term: 1923-1927

Sheriff Alfred Collins Kirby
Term: 1917-1919

Sheriff Millard Henry Hixon
Term: 1914-1917

Sheriff Thomas Gilford Harris
Term: 1910-1914, 1921-1922

Sheriff Thomas Lee Allen Downs
Term: 1906-1910

Sheriff William John Chitwood
Term: 1900-1906

Sheriff Robert W. (Bob) Frazier
Term: 1896-1900

Sheriff John Gasaway Deshields
Term: 1892-1896

Sheriff Anthony Green Franklin
Term: 1886-1890

Sheriff William Griffin
Term: 1869-1871

Sheriff Patrick Frazier
Term: 1862-1869, 1875-1878, 1890-1892
     © 2017 | DeKalb County Sheriff's Office | DeKalb County, Alabama
Site Design and Hosting by Brooks Jeffrey Marketing, Inc.